We are thankful for the authors who have offered to come to the Heartland Book Festival.  You can find information about the authors and their books they will be selling at the book festival.  Come on out to meet them and find the books you'd like to read.




Tom C. Hunley

Tom C. Hunley directs the MFA Creative Writing program at Western Kentucky University, where he has taught since 2003.  He is the author of seventeen books, most recently What Feels Like Love: New and Selected Poems (C&R Press, 2020) and Adjusting to the Lights (winner of the 2020 Rattle Chapbook Prize).

What Feels Like Love: New and Selected Poems
Book: What Feels Like Love; Author: Tom C. Hunley

What Feels Like Love: New and Selected Poems brings a selection of new poems that grapple with the challenges of raising and autistic son, adopting a teenage daughter from foster care, and learning of a friend’s suicide together with the best work from Tom C. Hunley’s six previous collections.


Libby Falk Jones

Libby Falk Jones’ poems and creative nonfiction have appeared in more than 25 journals and anthologies.  She is author or co-author of three books of poems, including Yakety Yak (Don’t Talk Back) (Workhorse Writers, 2022).  Winner of the 2021 Joy Bale Boone Poetry Prize (The Heartland Review), she is Professor Emerita of English at Berea College and a member of Bluegrass Writers Studio (Eastern Kentucky University).  She currently co-leads Coming of Age, a writing project for women over 60.

Yakety Yak (Don't Talk Back): Poems
Book: Yakety Yak (Don't Talk Back): Poems; Author: Libby Falk Jones

These poems explore growing up female in the deep South of the 1950s-60s, examining race and class as well as gender.  Reviewers have described the poems as "delightfully experimental," the collection as "riveting and intimate."


Jan LaPerle

Jan LaPerle’s new book of poetry, Maybe The Land Sings Back, was published in Spring 2022 from Galileo Press.  Her other books include: a book of poetry, It Would Be Quiet (Prime Mincer Press, 2013); an e-chap of flash fiction, Hush (Sundress Publications, 2012); a story in verse, A Pretty Place To Mourn (BlazeVOX, 2014), and several other stories and poems.  She completed her MFA from Southern Illinois University in 2006.  In 2014 she won an individual artist grant from the TN Arts Commission.

Maybe The Land Sings Back
Book Title: Maybe The Land Sings Back; Author: Jan LaPerle

Maybe the Land Sings Back is about motherhood, marriage, work, heartache, joy, and all that grows in between.


Clay Matthews

Clay Matthews has published poetry in journals such as the American Poetry Review, Blackbird, Kenyon Review, The Southern Review, and elsewhere.  His books are Superfecta (Ghost Road Press), RUNOFF (BlazeVox), Pretty, Rooster and Shore (both from Cooper Dillon), and Four-Way Lug Wrench (Main Street Rag Books).  He currently lives in Elizabethtown, KY and teaches at Elizabethtown Community & Technical College.

Four-Way Lug Wrench
Book Title: FOUR-WAY LUG WRENCH; Author: Clay Matthews

A well-traveled route where a Four-way Lug Wrench comes in handy from time to time, but which end to use?  The one that fits.  Clay Matthews hands us a sack full of colorful characters and settings and questions as to why we are on the road we never asked for when we already know we’re at the destination.  ~Mick Kennedy, Editor, The Heartland Review



Yvonne Morris is the author of the poetry chapbook Mother was a Sweater Girl (The Heartland Review Press).  Her poetry and fiction have appeared in various publications, including The Galway Review, The Santa Clara Review, The Write Launch, and elsewhere.  She received her MA in Mass Communication from the University of Kentucky, and has taught and tutored at Elizabethtown Community and Technical College for over 25 years.  Her second chapbook is forthcoming in 2022.

Mother was a Sweater Girl
Book Title: Mother was a Sweater Girl; Author: Yvonne Morris

Mother was a Sweater Girl is a chapbook of poems that "serve up an enticing slice of contemporary life," according to author Matthew Brennan, whose sixth volume of poetry, Snow in New York: New and Collected Poems, was recently published.


Mike Wilson

Mike Wilson is author of Arranging Deck Chairs on the Titanic, (Rabbit House Press, 2020), political poetry for a post-truth world.  He’s a past winner of Kentucky State Poetry Society’s Chaffin/Kash Prize.  His work has appeared in many small magazines, including Amsterdam Quarterly, Mud Season Review, The London Reader, and The Ocotillo Review.  Mike lives in Lexington, Kentucky.

Arranging Deck Chairs on the Titanic

Arranging Deck Chairs on the Titanic, by Mike Wilson, is political poetry for a post-truth world. that Kentucky Poet Laureate Jeff Worley calls "a book for our times."